breftast

breftast, originally uploaded by iamchanelle.

It’s all chilly and frosty outside today, the heater is keeping us toasty inside, and I am here warming my hands by the laptop in my sweatpants and slippers. Mmmmmmm, delicious cold weather, I love it.
It’s the perfect morning for one of my favourite breakfasts – steel cut oatmeal with dried cranberries, walnuts and pure maple syrup.


Steel cut oats are full of protein, fiber and vitamins, and have a very distinct nutty flavour. It takes a little longer to make, around 15-20 minutes, but is sooooo worth the wait. I usually munch on a few walnuts while I stir.  If you’d like to know more about the difference between steel cut and rolled oats, and why steel cut oats kick rolled oats in the pants, read here.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, i know how to spell ‘breakfast’. We just call it ‘breftast’ around these parts, as a cute little three year old insists that is the correct pronunciation, and who am I to argue?

What’s your favourite winter breftast?
I’d love to add some more to my favourites!
Have a great morning everybody!

love,
chanelle

3 thoughts on “breftast

Leave a Reply

