my very first roasted chicken

my very first roast chicken, originally uploaded by iamchanelle.

I did it! I did it!!!

I roasted a chicken for the very first time ever…and now I want to roast a chicken every day, haha!  It was sooooo good.  If you have never done it before, please trust me when I tell you that if I managed to do it, ANYBODY should do it.  I have put it off for a very long time because….I was afraid.
Seriously.
Raw chicken really grosses me out, actually, and cooking it makes me nervous (a side of salmonella, anyone?).
But this was so easy to prepare, REALLY tasty and quite gratifying, if I may say so. I felt all old fashioned and homey making it…Look at me! I roasted a chicken! Next thing you know I will be wearing high heels when I vacuum and baking apple pies every day.

OR NOT.

I actually wore my chucks and blasted Led Zeppelin while I made dinner. So there, take that Mrs. Suzy Homemaker. I can rock the chicken just as good as you. If not gooder.

So, if you want to know what I did, here’s the down low:

I put on my chucks.
Set the CD player to “Dazed and Confused”.
Realized the cruel Irony and changed it to “Bring it on Home”.
I brined* the chicken for two hours, rinsed, patted completely dry and coated it generously with olive oil inside and out.

Then I washed my hands for a half hour, because, eeeeew.

Then I stuffed it with fresh rosemary and whole unpeeled garlic cloves and covered it with freshly cracked black pepper and a sea salt blend with orange and fennel (given to me by a sweet friend.).

Then I washed my hands for another half hour, because EEEEEW.

I set it (untrussed) on top of several cut potatoes and fresh garlic cloves in a stoneware pan & baked at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for an hour.  I tested the inner temperature with my handy digital thermometer, and once it reached the 160 degrees F mark, I took it out of the oven and set it on a plate, covered it with foil and let it rest about 15 minutes before carving.

And then I felt incredibly, deliciously proud of myself.

Follow the steps I did and you will be pretty pleased with yourself, too.

Don’t forget the Zeppelin.

love,
chanelle

p.s. – Many many thanks to Adam, THE Awesome Amateur Gourmet, for his helpful video, which I consulted before I began, and from which I was inspired to include the potatoes and garlic.

and many, many thanks to my mother in law for generously sharing one of her chickens with us!  😉

*to brine your bird:
Boil one cup water with 3/4 cup kosher salt and 3/4 cup sugar (I prefer brown sugar for a richer flavour).
Once the sugar and salt are mostly dissolved, add the solution to one gallon cold water in a sealable container large enough for your bird. Mix well and add SEVERAL cracks of fresh black pepper, and any herbs you might like.
Clean out the bird, removing any extra inner parts (blech) and submerge into the brine. Use a plate to weight the bird down if necessary. If your chicken is larger in size, you may need to double the brine solution.
For a 3-4 pound bird, soak in the brine for 2-4 hours.
When time is up, remove from brine and RINSE REALLY REALLY WELL. Pat extremely dry and you are ready to roast!  And wash your hands.  Again.  Some more.

5 thoughts on “my very first roasted chicken

  1. Looks amazing! Seriously. Makes me hungry just looking at it. And here in Migraineville, I haven’t wanted to think about food all day. Soooo…yeah…

    Do you need to adjust the cooking time if you roast it without Zeppelin?

  2. ooooh, sorry about your move to migraineville – i hear mortgage rates are painfully high there. 😉

    oh and HAHA! um yeah you might want to adjust a little if you bake without the zeppelin – there won’t be as much dancing around and singing into wooden spoons before you put the chicken in the oven….
    😛

  3. Wow, you totally make me want to roast a chicken, too! Except for I probably won’t. I just can’t get over handling all the “innards.” If I wanted to remove someone’s heart and guts, I would have become a surgeon. And would have been a really bad one too, always removing people’s hearts and guts!

    I am happy for YOU, though! 😉

  4. How did I ever miss your blog? I’m a blog & great tasting food whore. Please forgive me. We met at an art gallery on a First Friday months ago.

    Back to the chicken…what a fab pic & recipe. I must include this in my recipe binder. Thanks so much. Hope you’re lovin’ the evening.

    *CHEERS*

Leave a Reply

