Autumn is here…let’s eat it!!!!

YAY!

Autumn is here!  Let’s wrap it up in a cupcake and eat it!
I am so excited to give you this recipe, because, well first of all I LOVE the Fall.  Love love love.  Second, this is my very-first-totally-invented-by-little-‘ol-me recipe.  Yep!  No altering, no modifying, just creating something to celebrate my favourite season.  Seriously, I really love eating baking being easily excited about simple things Autumn.  🙂

And if you’re afraid (uh oh, chanelle’s mad with power again, making up stuff, who knows how it’s gonna turn out, she even forgets to include the flour measurements, as in, completely leaves it out when she sends me recipes….YES I have done this…), I’ll have you know I’ve made these three times now and always received tasty reviews. These suckers are MOIST, sweet but not sickeningly so, perfectly spiced…oh, and the frosting!!!!  Oh man, I hate to talk myself up here, but my FROSTING is the shizzle.  Fo rizzle.

Pumpkin and Spice Cupcakes

with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

recipe and photos by chanelle richardson
makes about two dozen (and i had a little extra for mini muffins!)


To make the cupcakes:

4 oz butter, softened to room temp
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 c brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup pureed pumpkin
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
(to make your own spice mix:  1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger, 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg, scant 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice.  Double or triple as needed.)

2 1/2 cups flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
Line two baking tins with paper liners.

Cream together butter and sugars.  Add in eggs one at a time until well mixed.  Add pumpkin, vanilla and pumpkin pie spices and mix well.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
Alternate adding the flour mixture and the milk to the pumpkin mixture by thirds, ending with the milk.

Fill each muffin liner 3/4 full.

Bake in preheated oven  20 minutes, or until tester inserted into the middle of a cupcake comes out clean.

Cool in the tin 5 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.
Store in an airtight container once completely cool until ready to frost and serve.

To make the frosting:


~I originally used 4 ounces of cream cheese in this recipe, but have since discovered that I wanted MORE!  So I upped it and YUM.  Just thought you should know.

4 oz. butter softened to room temperature
8 oz. cream cheese softened to room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 lb. powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
small splash of milk, optional

Sift together the sugar and cinnamon and set aside.
Cream the butter and cream cheese until smooth.  Add vanilla and mix well.
Slowly incorporate the sugar, a little at a time until creamy and thick.
You may need to add a TINY splash of milk if the frosting gets too thick before the sugar is all incorporated.

Frost completely cooled cupcakes and NOMNOMNOM away – Happy Fall!

love,
chanelle

17 thoughts on “Autumn is here…let’s eat it!!!!

  1. Chanelle… your enthusiasm and energy is an inspiration to me… a joy! I shall try your ‘Pumpkin and Spice Cupcakes’ coz they sound and look great… : ) I definitely won’t find ‘pumpkin pie spice’ here so I’ll make my own! The photos are cool too… happy ‘fall’ dear friend… Clive on the Greek island of Crete x

  2. Sounds great – do you make your own pumpkin puree – if so what do you do? (do you roast in the oven perhaps)
    I too won’t find pumpkin spice here – so thanks for the mini recipe

  3. awww clive, you are too sweet, thank you!!! be sure to let me know how you like them. 🙂

    woody – i have pumpkin puree readily available here, but i have also made my own – roast a pumpkin and once cooled, blend in a food processor, blender, etc.. and, voila! 🙂

    steph – heehee! 😀

  4. Made these tonight, they were awesome, the cupcake wasn’t too terribly sweet, so I was ableto give it to the boys without fear that they would be up all night.

  5. Pingback: Truly Scrumptious « Bake and Sew

  6. Pingback: Not much going on around here - becky* « Chicks Formerly Known As Lambros

  7. Pingback: the morning after « Making Food. Eating Food.

  8. Pingback: wrapping things up « Making Food. Eating Food.

  9. Overall, the Kodak Zi8 HD Pocket Video Camera is by far the best pocket camcorder on the market especially
    if you’re looking for 1080p video capture. Not only does it offer everything the other professional level HD camcorders offer but also it adds to that. The technical view on this camera says that it’s not exactly the best in its class or price range; but as I said, this is not a
    professional camera either. I did expect it to be small since it was a mini but not quite
    that small.

Leave a Reply

