muffin madness

So, it would appear that I really really really really like to make muffins.

I always get this crazy urge right at the moment when my breakfast hunger pangs have reached red alert and I am desperate for something homemade and nothing else will do and I run around my kitchen frantically pulling ingredients and…well, it’s madness I tell you.

I think that’s why muffins hit the spot for me.  They only take about 10 minutes to prepare, and 20 minutes to bake and only 10 more minutes to recover from being stupid impatient and eating one right out of the oven and giving my mouth third degree burns.  Ahem.

So, I had the crazy urge strike again this morning.

A very delicious crazy.

The base for this recipe is one I have used before in my raspberry crumble muffins, and it comes from this cookbook.  Today I felt like springing off the base recipe and using up the blueberries in my freezer, with just a couple extra twists of my own.  I added a little dash of cinnamon, because cinnamon with blueberries is pure heaven.  I also made it vegan, yo!  Just for kicks and giggles.  Oh, and for the health benefits, too.

Blueberry Muffin Madness

2 tablespoons flax meal mixed with six tablespoons warm water

(OR, you can use two eggs – same equivalent)

1/2 cup oil (I used smart balance)

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 tablespoon lemon zest

2 cups unbleached all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries (I used frozen)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

Line a muffin tin with paper liners and set aside.

In a large bowl, mix flax meal, oil, sugar, vanilla and lemon zest.  In a separate bowl, sift together dry ingredients, and toss blueberries into the flour mixture to coat.  This will help them not all fall to the bottom of your muffins.

Gently fold the flour/blueberry mixture into the wet ingredients just until mixed.

Fill each muffin cup with about three tablespoons mixture (I have an awesome scoop that is just the right size…please get yourself one, too!  You’ll thank me.  Or…yourself.)

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until tester inserted into the center comes out clean.

Remove from the tin to a cooling rack and try to be patient before scarfing, um…four of them immediately.

love,

chanelle

13 thoughts on “muffin madness

  1. I am SO going to make these soon. I have all of the ingredients already (including the flax meal and frozen blueberries, by some miracle.) Thanks for the inspiration, lady!

  2. rebekah – you could totally mix flours. i almost did but was too hungry, haha! i have done that before with great results. they are just sometimes a little more dense, unless you use whole wheat pastry flour.

    good luck – let me know how they turn out!

  3. On the flour issue – I got this King Arthur white whole wheat flour, and I’ve been throwing it into all kinds of stuff you’re supposed to use white flour for. I haven’t mixed it with regular white flour (which I know you’re supposed to do but I’m crazy like that). Nothing has turned out funky so far. In fact, I haven’t been able to taste the difference in muffins, pancakes, etc. If I’m missing something here, feel free to let me know.

  4. Pingback: we ran out of muffins… « Making Food. Eating Food.

Leave a Reply

