presto pesto pizza

Ok, so I feel like I’m cheating somehow by even posting about this, as I did not make ANY of the ingredients from scratch, but I really had to tell you about this simple supper idea I had.  Because it ROCKS.

If I may say so myself.

Here’s what you should do, if you want to have a quick and easy supper that does not involve the words “hamburger” and “helper” in the same sentence, or “mac” n “cheese.  C’mon, we can do better than this, America!

Go buy yourself some naan (flat bread).  And make or buy yourself some pesto. (I bought mine from costco and L.O.V.E. it.) Make sure you have some mozzarella – the good, soft fresh kind.  And also some tomatoes and red onions if you like.  I like.

Turn your oven on to 500 degrees Fahrenheit.  Spread some pesto on the naan.  Slice the red onions and tomatoes and place over the pesto.  Thinly slice the mozzarella into circles and place a few on top of that. 

Bake on a baking stone or sheet for 15-20 minutes or until the crust is golden and crispy and the cheese has melted and turned golden.  Remove from the oven and let “rest” a few minutes, then serve!

Enjoy with a crisp white wine, such as Moselland Riesling.

Easy peasey presto pesto pizza!  One of the easiest and most satisfying meals I could have made for way less $$$ than takeout on a night I really did not feel up to cooking.  Well worth the effort.  If you can even call something so easy “effort”.

 

Enjoy!

 

Love, 

chanelle

12 thoughts on “presto pesto pizza

  1. Chanelle, I am shocked! You didn’t make this from scratch?! Are you telling me that you didn’t get up at 4 am to milk the cows to make the cheese, and you didn’t garden the tomatoes and onions yourself??! What a slacker!

    Meanwhile, I’m making tacos tonight! ;~)

  2. Fabulous idea!

    My really easy dinner plan tonight? Graduation Party Lasagna. Here’s the recipe:
    1. Go to a long graduation ceremony.
    2. Drive to Mom’s house.
    3. Eat lasagna someone else made.
    4. Say thank you. And congratulate the grad.

    Yours is quicker, though. And uses less gas.

  3. Totally yummy sounding, I’m definitely going to try this tomorrow night after I go to the store. tonight I will be making the aforementioned “mac n cheese”. The kids will be happy with it and I will have lettuce wraps.

  4. what is naam? Is that akin to naan?

    And while I would never make the cheese and only rarely make the bread… pesto?? Tsk tsk- Chanelle… I know you had all the fixins to whip that up yourself in like, 3 minutes.

    Note to self: still must recreate Greens’ arugula pesto. Can’t believe I haven’t tried it yet. First thing when I get home.

  5. Ok, that’s it! I have to read your blog AFTER eating…when I’m full, so I don’t get so hungry! What a splendid idea!

  6. Pingback: some Troast for breakfast « Making Food. Eating Food.

  7. i will try this soon!! I bought some naan bread but ate it up before I made the pizza. so good with spicy hummus spread. Oh well. Tiffs mom

Leave a Reply

