get better granola

Sooo, we haven’t been eating much ’round these here parts, what with the horrible-awful-no-good flu we came down with.  Now, however, things are finally looking up, waaaay up, and i’m back in the kitchen again!  (Sing it with me now!  “I’m baaaaaack…I’m baaaaaack in the kitchen agaiiiiiinnnn…”  ahem.)

When we stayed with the most awesome hostess ever, dear friend Jamie in San Francisco for a week (posts on that trip to come soon!), I got to enjoy her homemade almond, blueberry, myriad-of-other-assorted-and-sundry-goodies-granola every morning with some plain soymilk splashed over top and a cuppa joe.  Mornings started very well there, I must say.

Once I could actually stand on my own two feet back at home and well again,  I wanted to relive my healthy and vibrant SF mornings, so I constructed my own recipe to fit my personal favs (Jamie’s granola was AWESOME, let me tell you, but I did not have all the same ingreds on hand, therefore modifications were in order here).

With a nod to this recipe, because I really liked the simple binding ingredients, and to this one also, as it was Jamie’s original inspiration…..this is what I came up with, BEHOLD:

 

 

CC’s Granola

makes about 4 cups of granola goodness

3 Tablespoons butter

6 Tablespoons pure maple syrup – only Pure!  Maple!  Syrup!  ok?

2 cups oats (quick-cooking or rolled)

1/4 cup wheat germ

2 Tablespoons ground flax seed

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

pinch kosher salt

1 cup walnut pieces 

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

1/4 cup brown sugar (could probably do with less or even none of the sugar – it was pretty sweet for my taste.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, and set the racks to the top and middle of the oven.

Butter or line two baking sheets with parchment.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter with the maple syrup over medium heat, just until the butter has melted.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, blend all the remaining ingredients.  Once the butter has melted, pour the mixture over the dry ingredients and stir very well.

Split evenly between the two baking sheets and spread out into a thin layer.

Bake for about 10 minutes, then stir the contents of each tray, and change the bottom tray to the top and vice versa and bake for 7-10 minutes more, watching every couple minutes.  Make sense?  Play musical trays in the oven.  Only just with the trays.  And your hot pads.  Oh, nevermind – you know what to do. Right?

Watch to make sure your granola doesn’t burn – if it begins to hint at overcooking (tip – if it starts getting very dark brown, this is not good), go ahead and take it out early.  Nobody wants to try to relive their memories of a gorgeous trip to San Francisco and recreate an incredible breakfast they had there and instead taste BURN.  Or, you know, I’m just sayin’ is all.

I like to remove the granola from the trays right away, to prevent any overcooking.  I just wash and dry the large mixing bowl I used originally and scoop the baked granola back into it to cool, giving it a good stir every so often.

I think this get-better-granola is best served with aforementioned splash of soymilk, and REALLY best served with this frozen yogurt.  Oh MY is that ever so good.  I make that frozen yogurt all the time.  It rocks the casbah, yo.
And see?  It really makes one feel better, look!
It’s like a miracle breakfast of champions. Champions of what, I’m not sure, but aren’t we cute?

Anyway, hope you enjoy – let me know your own variations!

 

Love to you all! 

chanelle

 

 

7 thoughts on “get better granola

  1. Can I use Mrs. Buttersworth in it instead (sniff sniff, scratching armpit, pushing glasses up)? Duhhh.

    But really, seriously if you are planning on visiting our house sitter soon you might want to accidently leave some of this in my hiding place (on top of the fridge). Just saying. Something to think about.

  2. HAHAHA! i now have very bad mental images of SNL running through my head, hahahaha! phew. *wipes away tear*

    hmmm. i’ll think about it. will i find anything up there to take home with me? hee.
    hope you guys have a GREAT trip!

  3. Pingback: boxes and boxes and BOXES. « Making Food. Eating Food.

Leave a Reply

