candied nut(job)s

dsc_0021.jpg 

My BFF made candied almonds for our office back in 2002, and I still have a copy of the recipe she e-mailed to me.  They were that AWESOME.  I thought I would make some for the Husband and I to munch on tonight as we watch us some Lost, and then move on to Time Bandits.  Anyone out there remember that movie?  It’s been years since I’ve seen it (it came out, after all, the year I was BORN) and I was trying to describe it to the aforementioned BFF; all I could compare it to was Labrynth meets The Neverending Story.     Anyhoo, the recipe.  So easy.  Perfect for a movie night.  Or your co-workers.  Or your sweetie.  Or yourself.   The original recipe was for candied almonds, but the Husband loves pecans, and I don’t like ’em; I love walnuts, and the Husband doesn’t like ’em.  So, as in most all areas of our marriage, we have compromised (eg: he loves football, I don’t get it…I love Shakespeare, he doesn’t appreciate it….he takes care of the car, I run it into the ground…..I cook gourmet meals, he orders freaking hamburgers every place we eat out….  aaaaah, bliss) and mixed the two nuts.  No pun intended. 

Candied Nut(job)s

dsc_0013.jpg

Of course, major tweaking was involved in my rendition of this recipe – totally different nuts, as well as the addition of cinnamon, salt and cayenne.  You can omit all those if you prefer a simpler sweet.  I just tend to like things complicated.  It’s more nutty fun that way.  

 

  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch cayenne, for a little after-zing!
  • generous pinch kosher or sea salt
  • 4 cups nuts

 Preheat oven to 250 degrees Fahrenheit and line a baking sheet with parchment.  Beat the egg white until stiff, and fold in the brown sugar and spices.  Add nuts and stir until well coated.Turn out onto the baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.  Let cool completely and enjoy! 

2 thoughts on “candied nut(job)s

Leave a Reply

