Two.

Two.  Two years ago on this very day, I started this here blog.  
It has been a very awesome two years.
I have always loved food, as I have stated a few times before, but I could not have imagined the world that would be opened up to me by all of YOU.  I have learned so much from so many of you, and look forward to many more awesome years of food and love and friends.  
Um, and not in that particular order.
And of course, one cannot have a Blogiversary without some cake!
I was going to make something chocolate, but as I was flipping through the pages of my Moosewood Desserts cookbook, this recipe stood right out and said “Eat Me!”
I obliged. 
Of course, I altered a few things here and there to suit my taste and my available ingredients, so here is my Blogiversary Special 
Olive Oil Lemon Cake, just for you
adapted from the Olive Oil and Citrus Cake recipe found in Moosewood Restaurant Book of Desserts
  • 5 eggs, separated
  • 1/3 cup good quality olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • zest and juice of two lemons
  • 2 cups minus 2 tablespoons unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • confectioner’s sugar for dusting
  • 10 inch springform pan, oiled and dusted with flour
Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.
In a stand mixer, whip the separated egg whites until glossy stiff peaks form -do not overbeat.
Set aside.
In a separate bowl, “cream” the olive oil and sugar together (this will not so much “cream” as it will “crumble” together.  That’s ok.)  Be sure to stick your face into the mixing bowl at this step and inhale deeply the beautiful scent of smooth olive oil blending with sweet, sweet sugar.  There is nothing like it.  Mmmmm.
Ok, now that you are done following my VERY important instructions, remove your face from the bowl before this next step.  Unless you are a fan of egg yolk in your hair.
Beat in the egg yolks.  Add salt, cinnamon, vanilla, lemon zest and juice and mix until well  combined.  With the mixer on low speed, gradually add the flour and baking powder and gently mix until just combined.
With a spatula, gently fold in the whipped egg whites.
Pour batter into the prepared springform pan and bake for 45 minutes, or until golden and firm in the center.  At this point, your house will be filled with the most amazing aroma of fresh lemon and earthy olive oil.  Oh, MAN.  
Remove and cool on a rack for about 10 minutes.
Run a knife around the sides of the pan to loosen the cake, and remove the side of the pan.

Loosen the cake from the bottom of the pan and invert onto the cooling rack.  
Then place your serving plate onto the cake and invert onto the the plate.
Dust with confectioner’s sugar, if desired.  
Eat.  Celebrate.  Repeat.
Thank you all for reading the silly things I like to write here, for trying some of my recipes, and for all your kind comments.  It totally makes my day (and year).  
You all ROCK.
Much love, 
Chanelle
10 thoughts on “Two.

  1. Moosewood has a DESSERT book?! Don’t tell Joey (we’re trying to stick to a “budget”).

    Happy Blogversary!! You’re just a teenager in “blog years”, aren’t you? Oh, and cute hair!

  2. skipping right over the cake to say- love love LOVE the streaky hair. I miss my streak so bad and I think you have inspired me to reintroduce it straightaway.

    LOVE it!

    Oh, the cake sounds good, too.

  3. happy blogaversary!
    i didn’t know…
    time sure flies
    when having fun 🙂
    yummy cake…
    u u m m m …
    could it be possible
    to ADD
    some
    c h o c o l a t e ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

