I’m coming around. (Mediterranean Oven Omelette)

Phew.  
What a season this has been.  Baking, wrapping, shopping, more wrapping, party attending, happiness, sadness, travels, more baking and cooking and even more wrapping and then getting a cold.
{achoo!}
I have been down for a few days am finally coming around {achoo!}.  I think.  {achoo!  sniff.}
I actually made breakfast this morning, as opposed to guiltily shoving some pre-packaged, preservative-laden something or other into the kid’s hands and then crawling back under the covers.  It was sooooo good.  The breakfast.  Not the preservatives.
And I washed my hands, I promise.
The inspiration for this dish came from one of my favourite food blogs, Simply Breakfast, specifically, from this photo.  I left a comment asking for the “recipe” and Jen posted it (thanks, Jen – you rock!).  I have since come up with several of my own variations, and as there is no official name, I have titled today’s creation a
Mediterranean
 Oven Omelette
Serves 2
  • 4 large eggs
  • dash of milk or cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • dash cayenne
  • sea salt to taste
  • 10 cracks of fresh black pepper
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced or pressed
  • 2 marinated artichoke hearts, chopped (since they traditionally come in quarters or halves, use your best judgement: approximately a half cup)
  • 1 roasted red pepper (from a jar), chopped
  • small amount of feta cheese, crumbled
  • fresh oregano, for garnish, optional

Preheat oven to 350 degrees f.
Whisk eggs, milk or cream and spices together.  Add remaining ingredients and whisk together.
Pour into a shallow baking dish and bake for about 20 minutes, until set.
Serve immediately, topped with extra feta and fresh oregano, if desired.

Enjoy!


3 thoughts on “I’m coming around. (Mediterranean Oven Omelette)

  1. Leave out the red peppers (ack!) and throw in some olives and I am SOLD. Oooh, maybe some zucchini, too.

    that sounds awesome, and I love that your kids eat it.

    YUM.

  2. Hi Chanelle,

    My name is Shannon and I’m the editorial assistant at Foodbuzz.com. I am very impressed with the quality of your posts and to that end, I’d like to invite you to be a part of our newly launched Foodbuzz Featured Publisher program. I would love to send you more details about the program, so if you are interested, please email me at Shannon@foodbuzz.com.

    And thanks for sharing that mediterranean omelette. I’ve never made an omelette in the oven before, but now I guess I have reason to try. That and I will eggs for any and every meal if left to my own devices. =)

    Cheers!

    Shannon Eliot
    Editorial Assistant, Foodbuzz.com
    shannon@foodbuzz.com

Leave a Reply

