Oh, Dutch baby (pancake)

So apparently, our kiddo’s little pet cold has decided to move in and settle down with all of us for the week.  Cough, cough.
Ick.
So what was my first thought this morning?  The pain in my chest?  The restless night’s sleep from the night before?  The little evil gnomes with red hot pokers residing in my throat?
No, I woke up this morning thinking about Dutch Pancakes.
And how I really wanted to make one.
And how I have never even made or eaten one before.
So off to the net I went.
Did a search for “Dutch Pancake blog recipe” I wanted a good read to go along with my recipe, thankyouverymuch.
And of course, I found sweet Orangette waiting for me with a story (quite an interesting one I might add, hee!) and a recipe for Jimmy’s Dutch Baby Pancakes. 
Since I was making breakfast for four sick and hungry people (which is an oxymoron, I know – but nobody has eaten very much for three days. It’s starting to make us all cranky.  And hungry.), I decided to double the recipe and make it in my large 12 inch oven-safe skillet.
So, as with most all recipes I encounter, I make changes and adjustments to fit the picture I have in my head.  More often than not, it turns out great and I am one happy tweaker.  This morning, however, the chances I took with this recipe were…
A-MAZING.  Mostly because the recipe itself is AMAZING.

I think I will be making a Dutch Pancake every morning for the rest of forever.  And ever.  
What a surprisingly happy breakfast. 
Jimmy’s Dutch (not so baby) Pancake
Here’s what I did, and what you should go straight into your kitchen to do:
  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit 
  • Melt 6 tablespoons butter over medium heat in a large oven-safe skillet.
  • In a blender, whirl the following:

8 eggs

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup half and half
pinch kosher salt
  • Once butter has melted in the skillet, pour in the batter and place the skillet into the oven.  
  • Bake at 450 degrees for about 25 minutes.  Make sure you watch the pancake – not because it’s delicate or something could go horribly, horribly wrong, but because your pancake will undergo a complete transformation, and you do not want to miss this:
(a glimpse into the oven)

(Right out of the oven)

The recipe suggests serving the pancake drizzled with clarified butter, fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar – but of course, I changed that up also (only because I don’t have a lemon on hand, sad!); we thoroughly enjoyed our pancake with a couple tablespoons melted butter, pure vermont maple syrup and a dusting of powdered sugar.
I do believe this is just what the doctor ordered.
5 thoughts on “Oh, Dutch baby (pancake)

  1. hi danielle!
    funny, how everyone has different traditions with the same foods all around the world! they are good, whatever you call, ’em.
    🙂
    and thanks for the well wishes.

  2. Seriously.

    OH.MY.GOODNESS.

    Lemon juice and powdered sugar….it tastes like a lemon bar!!

    Thank you for sharing this recipe!! Was almost like a science project…made it even more fun for our dinner!! LOL!!

Leave a Reply

