Recipe for A Sewing Lesson

I learned to sew today.

After many, many years of being very, very afraid of that very fast, fast moving needle,


I decided to face that fear at last.

I read my owner’s manual, cover to cover:

I looked at all the parts:

I wound the bobbin:

I threaded all the…threading points:

And I made a….

………………………….

….now, did you think I would tell all in one setting, hmmmmmmmmm?

Well, you’ll just have to wait until Monday to find out what.

Let’s just say it’s pretty cool.
And I did it all by myself.

Here’s a little hint:

If you don’t think you can do something (like sew, cook, crochet, bake, paint, build a rocket ship…) just go ahead and try.

I did.

I think you’ll surprise yourself.

I really did.

And I know my Grandma would have been proud.

This was her sewing machine. The very one with which she repaired my Grandpa’s work pants in the 60’s, my Dad’s school shirts in the 70’s, and even my little baby clothes in the 80’s.
I love you, Grandma. And I miss you still.

2 thoughts on “Recipe for A Sewing Lesson

  1. How very cool, good for you! This is exactly how I found myself in the kitchen after years of popcorn and cereal for dinner. Your grandma WOULD be proud : ) Can’t wait to see what you made ……

Leave a Reply

