First Day (of the rest of our lives)

We just began a life sentence of sorts.

It hit me this morning, as I sat at the breakfast table with my kids, enjoying our freshly made English Muffin Bread, (which is pretty good, I might add; needs some minor tweaking before I will post my version…)


I realized that today has officially begun the next twenty years of driving kids to and from school, homework, field trips, homemade costumes for plays, new friends, bad friends, best friends, girl friends, heartbreaks, PTA meetings, sports injuries and {hopefully} graduations.

For today was my son’s first day of school.

I actually had a bit of a hard time grasping the fact that my firstborn has grown up enough to begin higher learning (higher than, say, legos or swinging…), to begin making his own choices in the world – good and bad, and to begin growing into the great man I know he will be.
I still feel like a kid most days, and am constantly aware of how quickly life changes around me.

Maybe I am being sentimental.

(three days old)

In fact, I AM being sentimental.

But my, how they grow up too fast.


(1st day’s school work – “we learned about ants today, mom!”)

8 thoughts on “First Day (of the rest of our lives)

  1. what sweet pictures! Yes it’s a whole new world out there after diapers, spit up, midnight feeding etc. I’m right there with you… it goes to fast!

  2. tara – i know! you think there will never be an end to the infant stage, and then….they are grown up overnight.

    nancy – aw, thank you so much for your kind comment!

    homesick texan – they really do – a good reminder to enjoy today, because it will be gone too soon! and thanks! πŸ™‚

  3. yikes! now’s the time i have to step up and be the cool auntie. auntie is no longer sufficient now that he’s in the world πŸ˜›

  4. court – haha! i almost cried writing it. there was so much more i could have said, but i don’t think i (or you) would have made it through. πŸ™‚

    and you already ARE the cool auntie. but we accept gifts.

  5. Pingback: last day. « Making Food. Eating Food.

Leave a Reply

