That’s the Way the Muffin Crumbles

Have your breakfast prospects been bleak lately?

I have been home with sick kids (AGAIN) this week, and have hardly had time to shower, let alone go grocery shopping. (You cannot have the latter without accomplishing the former. Please.) So, this morning, with a bare fridge taunting me, I was faced with the option of yet another scrambled egg, or a cereal bar. Bleeah.
Then it came to me: if I have eggs, and of course I have flour, I could most certainly make my breakfast prospect turn from grim

to great.


I have been stashing this little recipe for some time, waiting for the perfect morning to bring it full potential. I copied it years ago onto an index card from my mom’s beloved Moosewood Restaurant cookbook, and almost thought it too simple to be any good. As stated earlier, my breakfast choices had only room to go up, so I thought today would be the day to find out for sure. This is a very simple muffin base recipe with suggestion of countless variations. Titled Muffin Madness, this recipe can be found in Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home. If you do not have this cookbook, please treat yourself. Your stomach will thank you. Remember this? Yeah, that came from the same book. Get it.

I chose to use this base recipe as a springboard into creating a Raspberry Crumble Muffin, and hoooooooooo boy am I ever glad I did. Woah.

Raspberry Crumble Muffins

makes 12

Wet Ingredients:
2 large eggs
1/2 cup oil
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups raspberries (I used frozen)

Dry Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
Blend eggs, oil, brown sugar and vanilla together. Add raspberries. Sift dry ingredients into the raspberry mixture and gently fold together. The batter will be deliciously thick.
Scoop about three tablespoons of batter into paper muffin cups.

To prepare crumble topping:
1/4 cup flour
1 Tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts
1 tablespoon melted butter

Blend topping ingredients together and sprinkle a generous tablespoon onto each muffin. Gently pat topping into muffin.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.
Cool for as long as you can wait to get your hands on ’em.


And that, my friends, is the way the muffin crumbles.


The End.

8 thoughts on “That’s the Way the Muffin Crumbles

  1. I am amazed that with sick kids and no food in the house, you whip up a batch of raspberry crumble muffins! I would have just taken the cereal bar and moved on…. :~)

  2. Hi, i am searching for a good ole fashioned recipie for raspberry muffins.. i am going to make these as soon as i copy the recipe.. I googled and found a ton of fancy raspberry, cake/crumble/cobbler recipies, but nothing had simple down home ingreidents.. i hope they are as yummy as they look..

    thanks lesa

  3. Pingback: muffin madness « Making Food. Eating Food.

Leave a Reply

