And And Now for Something Completely Different: The Mexican Tortilla.

Apparently, depending on your location and/or vernacular, the word “tortilla” has two completely different meanings. For instance, if you happen to be thinking “Spain” in your head, while asking for a “tortilla” aloud, you will be served a delightful combination of potatoes, eggs and spices in a fritatta-style serving. However, if you are thinking “Mexico” in your head, while asking for “tortilla” aloud, you will be served this:

It is a telepathic thing. It must be.

Living so close to the Mexican border (I say that relatively…we are closer than, say, someone from Wisconsin…) I only knew to think “Mexican tortilla” and that is magically what I always received when I asked for it. Only recently did I discover there was a “Spanish tortilla“, a totally different result. I asked for a recipe on a fellow blogger’s site, as they posted a delish photo of this thing called a “tortilla espanola”, but did not at all look like what I was thinking it would be, and instead, I was immediately sent back to idiot food-maker kindergarden. “IS there a recipe for such a thing? Doesn’t EVERYONE know how to make a tortilla?” Well, yes – IF I KNEW WHICH ONE YOU WERE THINKING ABOUT! Sheesh.

I have yet to make the Spanish version, but I wanted to share with you the Mexican version of a staple food in my home. Scratch that – in my life. I love tortillas.

I eat them plain, filled with beans and veggies, baked with meat and covered in spicy sauces, in a box or with a fox.
This is the Mexican flatbread of choice -made with either cornmeal or flour. I love both, but I have only ever made flour tortillas. Let me know if any of you have a great corn tortilla recipe out there! Or IS there a recipe for such a thing? Maybe I should just know how to make those telepathically, too. Humph.

Tortillas

(the Mexican way)

Note: You can make these with entirely all-purpose flour, but I have found that adding a bit of whole wheat to the mix makes it so much more flavorful.

3 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup vegetable shortening (I did NOT say these were healthy! Just good!)
1/2 – 1 cup warm water

In a stand mixer, blend flours, salt and shortening with paddle attachment until mixture resembles small crumbs.

Attach dough hook. Slowly add warm water and continue mixing until mixture holds together and is no longer sticky. You may need to add extra water.

Form into balls and keep covered with a moist towel. Roll each ball out to about 1/8 inch thin (meaning, make them as thin as possible without tearing)

Cook over a med-hot griddle about 30 seconds on one side until small bubbles appear:

Flip over and cook about 20 seconds more until lightly browned on both sides:

And ¡hurra! Tortillas!


Technorati Tags: , , ,
5 thoughts on “And And Now for Something Completely Different: The Mexican Tortilla.

  1. how many would this make?

    and shortening is actually mildly better for you than butter…as far as sat fats go anyway. butter just tastes better, which is why they make butter flavored shortening, haha!

    although, i did like me some crisco in my younger days. boy, your blog is really giving away all the gross things i’ve eaten in my life, haha!

  2. Oh, yeah – how many…well, let me think…
    (I ate the first one right off the pan, made two quesadillas after that… one, two, three, four…)

    This recipe should make around one dozen or more, depending on how large or small you make ’em. So, to sum up, I don’t really know, haha! It really varies each time I make this recipe, but I know I will at least get a dozen good size tortillas.

    Helpful, kindof!

  3. hey s’kat! it really is sooooooo easy to do – please try it! you won’t regret it.
    imagine, two cranky, tired, hungry kids and a dog pacing around my legs and STILL I can make ’em AND take some pics. Anyone can do this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

