Superbowl Sunday, or Where My Real Priorities Are

Sports have never been good to me.
Translation: I suck at sports.

I cannot play sports, they play me. I was always the kid in a tree with a book, while all the other kids [fools] were sweating their brains out on the field/court/gym. I have no patience for learning stats, remembering team player names and numbers and keeping track of their overall progression throughout the year. Again, I will admit this is mostly because I suck at it. I also just don’t get it. And football, yeah boy, the stats and rules of that game really make me crazy.
However, I am married to a man whose very DNA is made up of a love for baseball, basketball, football, soccer, hockey and even golf (yawn), and so I support that every new year by attending the beloved Superbowl Party. I mostly attend for the really good food. (Shhh, don’t tell the Husband.)

(our little football lover in training)

I do also enjoy sitting around with all the non-football folk (which ends up being most of the women – why is that, I wonder?) and talking, playing dominoes and…eating every hour or so.

This year, I agreed to bring homemade macaroni and cheese to our friend’s party, a staple in my home growing up – thick creamy roux-based sauce, two pounds of pasta, spicy undertones from cayenne and black pepper, and sweet-salty-crunchy breadcrumbs rounding it all off. One can never get enough of those breadcrumbs.

I will post the recipe later(I promise!), but here is the general idea (and to get a better than general idea, skip on over to s’kat for her recent post on the SAME THING – I swear, I planned to make this before seeing it on her blog…you know, great minds…):

(a pasta brain! it came out of the colander like that.)


(this is gruyere, sharp cheddar, parmesan, nutmeg, cayenne, sea salt and pepper ready to add to the butter, milk and flour mixture)

(prepping the extra cheese and breadcrumb topping)

Mix it all together, bake at 375 degrees farenheit for 30 minutes and it’s a TOUCHDOWN!

Sorry. That was about as lame as my ability to actually throw a ball. And believe me, it’s bad.

Have a great time, however you plan to enjoy the big day!

I plan to eat.

6 thoughts on “Superbowl Sunday, or Where My Real Priorities Are

  1. yay. glad to see you’ve been back in the kitchen. 🙂

    this post makes me realize that i havent had your cooking in ages…please cook me something! haha!!

Leave a Reply

