Pear Tartlets with Prosciutto and Gorgonzola

Isn’t this pretty? I love the bright spring green trying to peek through the red pear. My new kitchen towel begged to have a photo shoot with this beauty. I gave in.

Pears and Gorgonzola are not an uncommon pairing, as is Proscuitto and Gorgonzola…so I thought, why not combine them all into one neat package? It was fabulous, let me tell you! No, really, let me tell you:

The End.

Just kidding!

I created these (YES!! I made my OWN RECIPE!!!) to be filling enough for a meal, served over salad greens with a glass of wine, or as a fine little addition to a brunch buffet. The pears provide soft and sweet for the palette, while the crispy proscuitto and gorgonzola add the perfect balance of texture and ‘zing’. I give you:

Pear Tartlets with Prosciutto and Gorgonzola

I started out by making a “Pâte Brisée” tart crust, thanks to chocolate and zucchini, set it in my fridge for about a half hour (I would, however, make the crust sans sugar next time, as I felt it was too sweet for this pairing. VERY good crust, VERY easy to make, though!) and prepared the other ingredients:

  • 2 red pears
  • 3 ounces proscuitto (about 4-5 strips)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled gorgonzola
  • 1 green onion
  • 1 egg white

Fry the proscuitto in a skillet until crispy; crumble and set aside. Use a drizle of olive oil if necessary to keep from sticking.
Slice the green onion into thin rounds.
Wash and thinly slice the pears into one inch pieces.

Gently mix the pears, proscuitto, cheese, onion and egg white in a bowl. Set aside.

Roll out the tart crust after it has chilled and cut it into rounds. (For these tarts, I used my muffin pan, well greased, and cut the rounds about an inch wider than each muffin cup.) There should be enough dough for 12 muffin-sized cups plus some extra for garnish.
After you have rolled out the tarts and placed them in the baking pan, pierce the bottoms and prebake in a 375 degree (Farenheit) oven for about 5 minutes.

While pre-baking, use the leftover dough to make decorative leaves. Take a paring knife and cut free-form leaf shapes, and score vein marks in each one. Brush each leaf with a little egg white.

Fill each tart crust with a spoonful of the pear mixture, top with a leaf or two, and bake for 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Gently remove each tart with a spoon and serve over a mixed herb and greens salad (compliments Trader Joe’s) tossed in a little olive oil and red wine vinegar.

Yum!

Even The {carnivore} Husband really enjoyed these.

Tagged with
5 thoughts on “Pear Tartlets with Prosciutto and Gorgonzola

  1. your photo is making me salivate. really, those look superb! i’ll have to try them sometime (when i’m feeling ambitious)

Leave a Reply

