Not yo mama’s banana bread

My bananas were on the brink between breakfast and disintegrating, so I decided to do the right thing and give their short life some meaning. I really wanted to be creative and not resort to my good ‘ol standby “Mom’s Banana Bread – The Best!” (a very humble recipe from my nana), so I thought I would create my own.

Enter the Two Key Ingredients:

I think these can still be classified as bananas:

And rum:

I searched the net for “banana rum bread”, “rum banana bread”, “banana-nana fe fi fo fanna, bana-na bread”, and nothing.

So here, for the very first time, I am pleased to introduce:

Not Yo Mama’s Banana Bread

For one loaf:

· 2/3 cup refined sugar

· 1/3 cup butter

· 2 eggs

· 1 tsp. vanilla extract

· 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana

· 1/3 cup sour cream

· 1/4 cup rum

· 2 cups unbleached flour

· 1/2 tsp. salt

· 1/2 Tablespoon baking powder

· 1/2 Tablespoon baking soda

· 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

· dash nutmeg

· 1/2 c cup toasted walnuts


Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees farenheit.
Grease and flour bottom and sides of a loaf pan.
Cream the first 7 ingredients.
Sift the remining dry ingredients into the wet and gently mix with the nuts.
Pour into prepared loaf pan.
Bake for about an hour, until golden brown and tester inserted into center comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “Not yo mama’s banana bread

  1. hmmmm, i have the bananas….but no rum. would vodka work? haha!! just kidding, i drank all of THAT too…

    *sigh*

    i guess i’ll just eat the rotten bananas, then.

  2. You know I love cake, and I love liquor, but the thought of bananas and rum in cake kinda makes me want to vomit. Maybe it’s the sweet vs. savory thing- savory always wins for me and I can’t say that I like banana-flavored ANYthing.

    Sorry, Chanelle. I usually support you and your cooking sprees 100%. The bananas kicked you down to 99. Hope you can live with yourself.

    You guys call me when you perfect that dirty vodka martini bread.

    *weg*

Leave a Reply

