Cooking Magic

I recently inherited some cookbooks that belonged to this wonderful woman:

You may remember her from a previous post as the lady that started All The Eating That Has Never Stopped: my grandma, Marlene Jane Sinclair. She took care of (fed) me from the time I was very little and very cute to the time I grew up and am still very cute.

Ahem.

Receiving these cookbooks is significant to me because all my memories involve food. If there was no food, there is no memory. So if you want me to remember you, feed me.

When I think of my grandma, I think of Claussen pickles (and the pickle juice she would save for me because I…..drank it.). I think of iced tea with every meal and gargantuan slices of lemon in each glass. I think of chalupes and pappy burgers and spaghetti sauce simmering all day in her yellow and brown wallpapered kitchen. I think of casseroles and more casseroles – and some of them not so good. A few gagging episodes were involved with one or two of those casseroles. I think of Irish stew and soda bread sent over to our house when we were sick.

And I think of how very much I have missed her this year since she passed away after fighting lymphoma for three years.

I am so grateful that I now have her recipe books and her handwriting on slips of paper stuck throughout the pages with notes like “use bigger dish” and “Dean’s favorite” (my grandpa).

There are two cookbooks in particular that I am excited about, simply because they are from the fifties and are therefore cool. I love old, cool books.

Each cookbook is a binder, and each binder contains twelve individual cookbook “magazines”, featuring cusines from around the world. There is the “German and Viennese Cookbook”, the “New England Cookbook”, even the “Scandanavian Cookbook”.

One of these even featured the following:

If the picture on the cover is any indication of those Dishes That Children Really Love (or are forced to eat and say they love by their loving parents or Else) than I am so glad children in my day did not have to eat those foods that were so loved by children in those days. Wow. What is that stuff?

And here, here is a wonderful example of Those Dishes That Children Really Do So Love:

Seriously??? Seriously.

Ahh, and now we are getting to ze bonne cusine:

but…what is………..squab?

It is described here as “Succulent dainties for an epicurean feast”. Helpful, kind of.

Upon further review of the recipe, it looks as though squabs have drumsticks, so I assume there is some fowl play here. I will look into this. More to come.

I shall leave you now with words of wisdom that I am sure my grandma lived by in her kitchen and throughout all aspects of life:

3 thoughts on “Cooking Magic

Leave a Reply

