awesome apple cake

So, when Heidi from 101 Cookbooks said she had a recipe that was delicious AND unfussy AND simple to make AND naturally sweet (I’m not one for overly sweet desserts…give me something clean and simple and I’m in heaven) AND as a bonus, it would use up some of the bajillions of apples I have all over my own kitchen….
I listened.
Oh yeah, and when she mentioned that “A big, floppy dollop of boozy, slightly sweet whipped cream takes this cake over the top”…ummm, I really listened.
I am a very good listener.
And Heidi is a genius.
This is a truly simple recipe, with the star of the show really given a chance to shine.

one a day

Not mushy or hidden behind overwhelming spices, perfectly complimented by a bit of cinnamon and a coarse grain sugar sprinkled over top…….how about them apples!

apple cake

So, big surprise, I did make some changes to the original recipe, though they were not meant as an improvement…just a modification to my needs/ingredients on hand/whims.  I am just a needy, whimmy person, what can I say.

First of all, the recipe calls for an 8 inch tart pan…and I have an 11 inch.  So, instead of risking the texture going all wonky by spreading the recipe too thin, I added a little more flour, a little more buttermilk, a tiny bit more sugar (to compensate for the additional flour), and cut my apples into a larger piece.  Oh!  And I also added vanilla.  Because…yum.  I chose to use all Demerara (raw) sugar, even in the batter, because I felt it would amp up the hearty proportions I was giving the cake.  Go big or go home, right?

Soooo, if you have a larger tart pan like I do, or are just whimmy like I am, and want to give this a try,  here’s my take on Heidi’s already incredible “Unfussy Apple Cake”.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Grease an 11 inch tart pan (or something similar) and line the bottom with parchment.

3 cups sweet red apples (I used Fuji), cut into 1 inch-ish pieces, unpeeled

1 cup white whole wheat flour

2 cups unbleached all purpose flour

1 Tablespoon aluminum free baking powder

generous Pinch kosher salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

3/4 cup Demerara (raw) sugar

2 eggs

1 1/4 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup unsalted butter melted and cooled

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/4 cup additional Demerara sugar for the top

Sift together the flours, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and 3/4 cup sugar. In a large bowl, beat the buttermilk, eggs, melted butter and vanilla together. Chop the apples. Gently fold the buttermilk mixture into the flour mixture, just until barely incorporated, then fold in the apples.  Be careful not to over mix – handle them apples tenderly.  Ahem. Spoon into your prepared tart pan and sprinkle the additional 1/4 cup sugar evenly over top. Bake for 20-25 minutes until beautifully golden.

Remove to cool and eat warm or cooled.

Or both.

a side of awesome apple cake

And especially save a piece for breakfast the next day, because dayum, it’s GOOD.

oh and about that “big, floppy dollop of boozy, slightly sweet whipped cream takes this cake over the top”… YEAH.  A MUST.

awesome apple cake

you will need:

about 3/4-1 cup heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup Amaretto liqueur

Whip until stiff peaks form.  Spoon over the cake…or them apples (heh heh heh).  Or…..whatever you can find.  MMMMMM.

Enjoy!!!!

much love,

chanelle

9 thoughts on “awesome apple cake

Leave a Reply

